Bibliophiles ‘R’ Us

Giveaway: The Sword, The Wolf, and The Master by Jean Johnson

Posted on: July 21, 2009

the sword

the wolf

the master

Look at all that glorious chest…*licks lips*

The Sword, from Jean’s website:

Eight brothers, born in four sets of twins, two years apart to the day-they fulfill the Curse of Eight Prophecy. To avoid tempting their destiny, the brothers are exiled to Nightfall Island, a land where women are strictly forbidden. But, when the youngest of the mage-brothers rescues a woman from another universe, their world is altered forever.

Kelly Doyle had wanted to get away from the world. Threatened, attacked, and accused of witchcraft, Kelly had enough of her narrow-minded small town. And now she has somehow landed in another, magical dimension-the only woman in a realm inhabited by eight men who are desperately in need of a woman’s touch.

The Wolf, from Jean’s website:

Eight brothers, born in four sets of twins, two years apart to the day-they fulfill the Curse of Eight Prophecy. To avoid tempting their destiny, the brothers are exiled to Nightfall Island, where women are forbidden. When a childhood friend seeks refuge among the brothers, it triggers a confrontation with their mysterious enemy.

Alys arrives desperate and afraid, but welcomed by Wolfer, the second-born brother who harbors deep feelings for Alys. But she harbors a secret: her own uncle is tormenting the exiled brothers, and seeks to kill them to secure their ancestral inheritance for himself.

Confessing her uncle’s plan to the brothers puts them at even greater risk, for their resistance against the evil mage has stirred his wrath. Alys fears her uncle is determined this time to exterminate the brothers once and for all-destroying the star-crossed lovers as well.

The Master, from Jean’s website:

Eight brothers, born in four sets of twins, two years apart to the day-they fulfill the Curse of Eight Prophecy. To avoid tempting their destiny, the brothers are exiled to the Isle of Nightfall, where women are forbidden. But when the abducted third-born brother is taken by a powerful and beautiful mage, he wonders if she is his own Prophesied Disaster, his foretold wife-to-be
  
Kidnapped from the Isle of Nightfall, taken captive by slavers, Dominor is sold to a lovely mage, who promises freedom.  But Lady Serina has plans for him; she needs another powerful mage to re-enact a mating ritual, to help reverse a Tantric spell cast centuries ago.  Agreeing to help her, Dominor doesn’t suspect the secret she holds back from him:  there is more to this magical mating than the Arithmancer has revealed.
 
Once the ritual is complete, he will be returned to Nightfall.  But when that secret finally shatters, baring the truth behind the misunderstandings now separating them, Dominor is determined to retake possession of the woman who is his Destiny.
Thanks to Jean for donating the books to giveaway!!

Along with the book, the winner will also get author swag and a bottle of “Wicked” lotion inspired by Jennifer Haymore’s book A Hint of Wicked!  (Thanks to the various authors for donating the swag and Jennifer for the lotion!)

I’m limiting this to the US only due to shipping costs (sorry international readers).  Since I’m sending it myself, PO Boxes are fine.

To enter:

  • +5 entries for answering this question: What do you think of the Sci-Fi channel changing their name to SyFy? 
  • +5 entries for commenting on another post on my blog and coming back here and saying you did
  • +10 entries (per place) for blogging about this contest on your blog, Myspace, Facebook, Twitter, Ning group, or other appropriate site.  If you’re not sure of the site you want to post the link to this on, ask me. Please, don’t give me the link to the main site.  The link has to be a specific link to where you placed my link. (Sidebar counts).
  • +5 entries for referring another person here, and they say you referred them.

You can comment and refer as much as you like.

Make sure your email address is valid, since I don’t want to have to hunt you down.

This contest ends on September 1st at midnight EST.  I’ll announce the winner on September 2nd.

Good luck!

Enter my other contests:

Seduce Me by Robyn DeHart

Dark Hunger by Rita Herron

57 Responses to "Giveaway: The Sword, The Wolf, and The Master by Jean Johnson"

+5 What do I think of the SciFi Channel changing up it’s name to SyFy. I don’t think it really matters one way or another. I understand trying to change things up and upgrade to more refined look. I think if they wanted to do something to attract readers, more original shows with at least a medicrome of intelligence in the script would be the way to go.

+10 Voted on poll. I was number 39 on the comments.

Thanks for the opportunity, these three books look like tempting reads. Indigo

Hi! Just posted on Win A Book. What a neat contest! No need to enter me, though.

It’s creative and catchy. But an insider joke though – it would probably require explaining to a lot of people who wondered where the name came from.

I would love to win these books. I am a huge Jean Johnson fan.

+5 I think it is ridiculous that the Sci-Fi channel somewhat changed it’s name. I noticed this over the weekend and thought to myself. How much money went into the thought, design change and everything else that is related to making such a minor change. Seems idiotic in today’s economy. It’s not like they changed their programming prompting the wording change.

+10 I blogged about this giveaway on my blog in the sidebar here: http://seductivemusings.blogspot.com/

+10 I already voted in the book giveaway poll

Thanks for the chance to win!

cldivineATyahooDOTcom

Hehee It’s cute but sadly I think anyone not a regular would be a tad confused by it…

Voted on your poll…

What do I think of the change of SCi FI channel’s name, poohy! I just start to get used to this after ten years of watching it and they have to go and mess me all up. Thank goodness I know the channel # or I would’ve got lost and a bit peeved. This dog is to old for new tricks.

Great contest btw! Good luck to everyone.
huggs,
Terra

+5 How weird is it their changing their name now? Another example of people wanting to be hipper..which is silly to me as a 20=something. Pizza Hut is now just “The Hut”…how weird is that??

+10 Tweeted (twitter.com/r8chieg)

+10 VOTED IN POLL 🙂 Woot Woot

I actually like the new name for SyFy I think that while it surely cost them an arm and a leg to do the initial name change, the monetary reward will be shown over time. The are creating a brand and to just be “the sci-fi” channel is not catchy. SyFy is different and the ascetics of it is also catchy, today as I was flipping through the guide I stopped at SyFy just because of how it looks.

As far as the original programming. Have you seen their new shows??? Eureka, Primeval (I know it is a BBC show but it is on SyFy), Ghost Hunters, Warehouse 13, Destination Truth all great shows. I know the movies they show can be cheesy but sometimes that is what makes a Saturday afternoon great.

I think that they Sci-Fi channel did the name change to get attention and possibly widen the type of things that it shows.
Thanks!

I don’t get the Sci-Fi channel, but it seems kind of silly to change it. I don’t know though.

I voted in the poll.

I don’t understand why we have to change something that worked in the first place! If it isn’t broke, don’t try to fix it!

I see absolutely no point to the name change. It’s just a waste of time and energy – and money!

spvaughan yahoo com
+5
maybe for people who spell phonetically. maybe next time they should make s, then put an eye behind it, an f with an eye behind it.

+10
i voted

+10
i facebooked as sandra vaughan

I actually hate the change of name….I don’t know why, call me old fashion but I liked the way it was before.

ykatrina at hotmail dot com

Sci-Fi was pretty archaic, I like that they are updating the spelling – its pretty cool!

This is the 1st I’ve heard of the name change! And seriously, why?! I think its pointless
I guess the only good thing is “term “Syfy” can be protected by trademark and therefore would be easier to market on other goods or services without fear of confusion with other companies’ products.”

I’m not really sure why they changed their name, but I guess it’s okay. I liked SciFi better but I’m not going to get upset about it being SyFy.

I’ve already voted in your poll.

Thanks!

* +5 : What do you think of the Sci-Fi channel changing their name to SyFy? I think Sci-Fi will never be the same and the new name will take us a while to get adjusted to it.

* +5: Commented on another post

* +10: Tweeted: @iheartbkgossip, posted on sidebar
http://juniperrbreeeze.blogspot.com/

* +5: Referring my friend Z.M.

* +10 voted on poll

I would love to read these books. They sound great.

+5 I am ok with the name change.

+ 10 I voted in the poll.

+5 I don’t like the new name. What was wrong with “Sci-Fi”, the abbreviated version of “Science Fiction”? I guess they’re going to change the spelling of science fiction to syence fyction, too.

+10 I voted in your poll.

+5 I don’t really like it, I think it looks silly. But I think Sci-Fi changed to SyFy to be more modern and try to get rid of the stigma of nerdiness that “sci-fi” tends to evoke in the mainstream!

+10 Already voted for one of your choices. I want to vote again, but alas.

+5 Commented on another post!

+5 — I think the name change is silly — but whatever floats their boat — I liked it the old way just fine 🙂

+10 — I voted in the poll already.

count me in please!

+5 I dont like but I heard they ended up changing it for legal reasons and they are trying to spin it like they are trying to freshen up their image

+10 I voted in your poll

throuthehaze at gmail dot com

I definitely want to get in on this contest.
Do I like the channel name change? I don’t know yet. I was so used to Sci-Fi though and getting used to SyFy is taking me some time. Its not a huge change but I have to wonder why the heck they did it?!
I already voted on your book poll by the way.
And I have your contests posted up here: http://ladyvampire2u.blogspot.com/2009/07/july-giveaways-part-2.html
And Trin of the Bloody Bad blog refered me.
Thanks!

[…] Sword, The Wolf, and The Master by Jean Johnson, at Bibliophiles ‘R’ Us (ends July 28, US […]

I posted this on my blog. Here’s the link.

http://carolsnotebook.wordpress.com/2009/07/25/giveaways-in-blogland-10/

carolsnotebook at yahoo dot com

Great prize, thanks, count me in!

I watch the SyFy channel and like the name change!!!!

Voted in your book giveaway choices poll!

+5 I don’t have a television. Am curious as to why the channel decided to change the spelling. The new name will take some getting used to … for now it just seems silly.

+5 I commented on your post “Mailbox Monday – July 20, 2009”.

+10 I voted on your book giveaway choices poll.

I hate the fact that Sci-Fi is changing both the name and the logo. Why are they trying to fix something that is not broken?

madamerkf at aol dot com

I was very confused by the change in title, but it makes sense in a way. Syfy and SciFi sound the same, though, so it never mattered to me what it was called. The change is rather superficial. But it’s strange to me that the name has changed because I am not used to the logo.

I commented on your review of Taming of a Laird.

I have voted in your poll.

Ok, SyFy – that is seriously wrong! What, are they trying to change the whole culture? Or just stand out?

Thanks for this giveaway – I just love series books, and swag oh swag!

Miranda

I like Sci-Fi better. I don’t know why but I don’t like the change.

tweet

I think changing their name is ridiculous.

because SyFy appears more “hip” than the old-fashioned “Sci-Fi”.

What do you think of the Sci-Fi channel changing their name to SyFy?
Omg I so didn’t like it. LOL I turned it there and thought I had the wrong channel at first because the spelling caught me off guard…

I commented on Tamed by a Laird Giveaway, August Pimpage, Review for Tamed by a Laird, and Review for First Night

I posted this to my facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/pams00

I tweeted this:

I voted on your book poll and left a comment there

Pam S
pams00@aol.com

+5 I don’t like the new channel name at all. I guess ‘SyFy’ is supposed to look young and cool, but I just think it looks ridiculous.

+10 I just voted.

Great giveaway!
marieimy (at) gmail (dot) com

I don’t really see why the changed the channel name it seems pretty much the same to me.

delitealex2006ATyahooDOTcom

I entered the So Into you contest.

I posted the contest on my blog.

http://mustlovebooks-delitealex.blogspot.com/

I voted on the giveaway poll and commented.

delitealex2006ATyahooDOTcom

What do you think of the Sci-Fi channel changing their name to SyFy? I think it is strange, but I guess they are doing it for marketing.

+5 I think they changed their name to get free publicity. They got us talking about it right?

Thanks!

Not sure if you will see this LOL

I’ve blogged about this competition and two others — on my GIVEAWAY PAGE!

Sassy
🙂

I’m not to thrilled with it, but hey maybe change is good?

+5 I think Sci-Fi changed the name to SyFy for a better marketing purpose. Because a lot of things get labeled as Sci-Fi so it would take away from the channels special uniqueness.

+10 posted on my sidebar (http://www.findthetimetoread.blogspot.com)

+10 posted on my twitter (http://twitter.com/riotxjess/status/3691071337)

I’m crossing my fingers doubley hard. I love this series, and I’ve been driving myself nuts trying to find them in bookstores around here since I don’t order things off line 😦

EMAIL: findtimetoread (at) gmail (dot) com

You know, I actually hadn’t noticed they HAD changed their name until tonight LOL. But I think its rather silly. What was the purpose?

Just wanted to let you know that I reposted the link on my sidebar, since I had removed it September 3rd since I thought the contest was over 🙂 But it is back up.

Thanks for the giveaway. Please enter me.
+5 I think the SciFi Channel changing its name is just plain silly. It kind of reminds of when my son was in Kindergarten, they did inventive spelling. They would just write the word like it sounds. No matter if its correct or not. Perhaps one of the execs over there has a child in Kindergarten.

Seems like you are a true professional. Did ya study about the theme? *lol*

Leave a Reply

ATTENTION AUTHORS, PUBLISHERS, AND PROMOTERS: If you would like me to review one of your books, please drop me a line at jaam121388 AT yahoo DOT com. Please put something along the lines of "Book Review" in the subject line so I know it's not spam. I'm not really adverse to any genre except most non-fiction, but my favorites are paranormal and romance (all subgenres). Refer to my review policy if you have any questions, as it will answer most of them. If your question or concern isn't answered there, feel free to contact me via email. Thanks!

If you would like me to put your blog or website on my blogrolls, please email me!

If anyone has promotional items they'd like to donate to me, please email me. I like to pass on bookmarks and such to friends, family, co-workers, and winners of contests here on my blog, and any donation is very welcome.

My Current Contests


Ends September 15. Click for details.


Ends October 6. Click for details.

Please join me here!!

Search & Win
By registering, you can win things like books, musical instruments, gift cards, trading cards, video games, electronics, and much more JUST BY DOING SEARCHES IN THEIR SEARCH ENGINE!! There are also other ways to win things. For full details, click on the button.

Upcoming Blog Tours


Review coming September 17

Cleopatra's Daughter by Michelle Moran
Review coming September 18


Review and Giveaway coming September 20

Guest Post with Michelle Moran
Coming September 24


Guest post coming September 25


Review coming September 29


Review and giveaway coming October 2


Guest post coming October 8

Guest Post with Diana Rumjahn
Coming October 21


Guest post coming October 22


Review coming October 23


Guest post coming October 26

Guest Post with Rolf Hitzer
Coming October 27

Upcoming Giveaways

Lucan by Susan Kearney
Coming September 20

A Highlander's Temptation by Sue-Ellen Welfonder
Coming October 2

Seduced by Shadows by Jessa Slade (ARC)
Date TBD

Not Quite A Husband by Sherry Thomas
Date TBD

A Drop of Red by Chris Marie Green
Date TBD

Tempt the Devil by Anna Campbell
Date TBD

Happy Hour at Casa Dracula by Marta Acosta
Date TBD

The Other Eden by Sarah Bryant
Date TBD

The Lady & The Libertine by Bonnie Vanak
Date TBD

When You Believe by Jessica Inclan
Date TBD

For the Earl's Pleasure by Anne Mallory
Date TBD

A Circle of Souls by Preetham Grandhi
Date TBD

Mommy and the Millionaire, The Second-Chance Groom, and Falling For the Lone Wolf by Crystal Green
Date TBD

The Ultimate Bite and Good to the Last Bite by Crystal Green
Date TBD

Currently Reading







Photobucket

OnePlusYou Quizzes and Widgets
Created by OnePlusYou



FeistyFrugalFabulous







come and win some free books

Awards


Thanks J. Kaye!


Thanks Trin!


Thanks Mary!


Thanks Trin!


Thanks Trin!


Thanks J. Kaye and Trin!

Blog Stats

  • 11,371 hits
July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
